I am often asked “What is the best way to get started with Internet Marketing?” and the answer is always the same. When I first started, I went the way of affiliate marketing. It was the fastest and easiest way to promote products that would give me an income and pay for my advertising.
In the beginning, most of the affiliates that I promoted had everything all set up to include ad campaigns, keywords, email letters, articles, banners, and landing pages professionally designed to capture your customers. All you had to do was join an affiliate for free and get your code and send them to the landing page. Things have changed now and made it a little harder to get going but it is still the simplest way to go.
1.) Go to ClickBank, Commission Junction, Copeac, Neverblue, PayDotCom and sign up to their affiliate programs. Pick a product and start promoting. Make sure you check out the site and product to find out if this is what you want to promote. Check out what they have on the affiliate pages that will help you in promoting their product.
2.) Google is by far the largest search engine and Google dictates “How, What, Where, and When”. When I first started we could direct link to the Affiliate landing page and promote that way, which saved time and money. It also gave you a chance to test the niche (Affiliate Product) and see what the return was. Now, Google wants you to set up a domain name and website that promotes that product. That means that you have to create a sales page and promote the product on your own.
That’s not really that difficult because you can read their sales page, add and subtract some of the information and promote the product on your own. Make sure that you check with the affiliate and ask them if you can link with their pay server and promote that way. Most of the affiliates will want to see your sales page to ensure that all your information is correct and accurate. If you feel that this is above your head, there are several companies out there that will do this for you (eLance.com, scriptlance.com, guru.com, or check the internet. .
3. ) Make sure that your landing page or sales page is keyword rich. This means that the keywords you are going to use in your ad campaign are embedded in your sales or landing pages. Google will rank you higher because your site is more relevant for the search term and lower your bid cost on your keywords. When I run a campaign I may use several different landing pages based on the keywords that I am bidding on. The main purpose here is to show relevance to what a person is searching for.
Make sure that you track all of your keywords and related pages so that you can tell which ones are producing. Change some of the wording on the ones that are not producing and try them again. It is very important that you keep testing your landing or sales pages to see which is producing the best.
4.) Every newbie into internet marketing picks the wrong keywords. Why enter the market using the keywords that are the most expensive. Some people are bidding on keywords that are generating the highest traffic but cost the most. I have seen keywords that cost from $10 to $30 a click, that’s not a click through but a click. Just think about this, if your marketing a product that pay’s you $100.00 and your cost per click is $30.00 then every third click has to convert to a sale. That means your click through rate has to be more than 33.3% in order for you to break even. If you choose less targeted keywords with a lower bid cost, your conversion rate can be lowered 1% to 2% and still make money without paying the higher cost per click. In the beginning look for the less targeted keywords and build your campaign around them.
5.) The most important step in marketing campaigns whether it is PPC (pay per click) or CPA (cost per action) are your ads that attract customers to your landing page or sales page. You have to think about your ads. Figure out what it is that people are looking for and how to attract them to your website. Remember your ads are only 3 lines. The first line contains your keyword and the answer to their search phrase, and that can only be 25 characters. The second and third lines answer their questions and make them want to click to your site for what they are looking for. That is why it is so important for your landing page to contain the keywords that they are searching for.
Your intention is to answer with a solution to their problem or an answer to their search. This is very important because people will only spend a few seconds on your site if they don’t find an answer in the heading of your page. So make sure that you anticipate the answer they are looking for in your headlines and the solutions in the body of your landing or sale page.