Faster Internet Access At 8 Stns Of D’pur Divn | Patna News

Patna: At least eight stations, including Patna Junction and Rajendra Nagar Terminal of the Danapur division of the East Central Railway (ECR), have been brought under the PM-WANI (WiFi Access Network Interface) scheme which aims at providing faster access to WiFi network to the passengers on railway platforms. Chairman of Rail Tel, an affiliate of Indian Railways, Punit Chawla launched this ambitious scheme as a pilot project of the railways on Monday.
According to the ECR’s chief public relations officer (CPRO) Birendra Kumar, railways had earlier tied-up with the Google to provide WiFi services on railway platforms. “However, railways has launched this scheme in close coordination with the Department of Telecom (DoT) on its own enabling passengers to access WiFi faster network connectivity on platforms,” the CPRO said.
The railways has launched this scheme at 100 stations located in 22 states, including Bihar. It has identified 71 ‘A1’ and ‘A’ class stations for executing PM-WANI scheme and 29 other stations under the different class for developing the new scheme. “Gulzarbagh, Barh, Punarakh, Bankaghat, Athmal Gola and Thawe are other stations of the ECR which have been provided with the PM-WANI network,” he said.
“We have deadlines to provide this scheme to 1,000 stations by June 10 and 3,000 stations by June 20 while it will be 6,102 stations by June 30 when these stations will have PM-WANI connectivity. The existing facility of WiFi network at railway stations will be connected to the PM-WANI in phases,” Kumar said, adding that the ECR stations will have hotspot facility and the passengers can download the ‘Wi-DOT’ application from Google Play Store to access it.
The Rail Tel has developed this application with assistance from C-DOT (Centre for Development of Telematics).
According to the C-DOT chairman Rajkumar Upadhaya, the WiFi network is now spread over 6,102 stations across the country with 17,792 hotspots. “However, PM-WANI hotspots will be a boon for the passengers across the country including Bihar,” the chairman said.
According to the sources, about 403 stations of the ECR are having WiFi network services. While the Danapur division has 97 stations, Samastipur division has 98 followed by Dhanbad (94), Sonepur (65) and Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyaya division (49). “All these stations will be provided with PM-WANI soon,” sources said.


Source link

Leave a Reply